2012-09-21 Fabulous Friday Finds

Green Line Bridge, Boston 2010

Green Line Bridge, Boston 2010

It’s time again to see what cool things we found dubbing around on the net.

First up: How To Cook Lentils.  Because basic knowledge tends to be the first thing I forget, and I’m always looking it up.  This is a great, straightforward post.  Also to remember: lentils are a cheap, super easy source of protein, taste good hot and cold, and now you know how to cook them.

Curious about the biology of lactose intolerance?  Yes?  (Nerd.   I know, me, too.)  Here’s your answer.

And since I’m trying to be an adult here, and stop posting a bunch of sugar filled recipes, I found this great article (with accompanying video) on how to make a gluten free all purpose flour mix.  Using the portions in the article and picking out my own ingredients from the lists was how I came up with the mix for the buffalo wing coating we posted on Monday.  I had tried a commercial mix before with the same recipe, and it was gritty, and sort of sandy.  The mix I chose using the article worked perfectly and my husband and I who are not gluten-free (I have a lot of allergies, but so far, wheat isn’t one) could not tell the difference between the two.   But if you don’t want to be so loose-y goose-y about it, here’s another bunch of recipes for gluten free flour mixes I found.

I was dubbing around on Twitter the other night (Denise’s Twitter handle is @briagha1994 if you’re so inclined) and VegNews was having a chat about their most recent issue, and what people really want in Vegan Cheese.  In the course of the conversation, I learned about this book, Artisan Vegan Cheese, which I’m interested in.  Anybody seen this book or used some of the recipes?  How did you like it? Also, after I whined that I can’t have Daiya (dratted coconut oil – shaking fist at sky – you win again!), Stephanie Weaver directed me to her site, which has a recipe for Shredded Vegan Cheese.  It uses cashew nuts, so if you can’t have tree nuts, stay away, but for me it might be a viable option.  Once I experiment, I will definitely let you all know.

And as the summer winds down, if you’re still drowning in zucchini, here’s some gluten-free, vegan Oven-Baked Zucchini Fries from GoDairyFree, that look freaking fabulous.  If any of my peeps with a garden need to get rid of zucchini, I’m totally here for you.

Denise found this, but as a happily married woman, wouldn’t think to post this, but here is the niche dating site you’ve been waiting for: Singles With Food Allergies.  My first response was to laugh, but honestly, how nice would it be to go on a date and not have your “weird” eating habits up for discussion?  I thought it was bad enough when I was just dairy-free, but now?  Basically, I only go to restaurants I know I can order something safe without sounding like Meg Ryan’s Sally in When Harry Met Sally.  And I’m lucky, given that cross-contamination isn’t a big issue for me.

Stewed vegetables.  This might be the perfect transitional dish — using up summer’s veg in a way that takes into account the changing season.  Yum.

If you see cool stuff in your travels, please share with us.

Posted on September 21, 2012, in Information. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey, thanks so much for the shoutout! You could also use sunflower seeds to make that cashew cheese, so readers with tree nut allergies still have an option!

  2. Interesting stuff even for those of us that have no known allergies.

Talk to us!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 516 other followers

