2013-02-08_Fabulous Friday Finds

Bike Paths near Odiorne Point State Park, Rye NH

Bike Paths near Odiorne Point State Park, Rye NH

Welcome to Friday, folks.  You made it.

If you have environmental allergies, you might be interested to know that some hotels have hypoallergenic rooms. Personally, I’m probably unlikely to pay $50 more a night, but I’m a bit on the cheap side.

The Gluten–Free Girl makes a flour mix.

Tips for Eating Out as a Vegan.  Now, generally, food allergies are different than veganism in that cross-contamination is a bigger concern, but all of this advice applies, and it’s mostly what Denise and I do anyway.  Do your research, call ahead, ask.  Any place that makes its own food (versus a corporate restaurant with set dishes and likely some pre-packaged foods) is likely to be able to work with you.

New York Times on gluten-sensitivity and the debates in the medical community. As someone with a clinical diagnosis of gluten-sensitivity, my doctor did a blood test (IgE), and a celiac blood test (negative), followed by an elimination diet and then a sensitivity test (eating gluten for three days and tracking symptoms for 7 total). Gluten and I should not continue our relationship.  It saps my energy and causes digestive distress.

If you can have soy or have the patience to make a nut-based cream cheese, these raspberry lemon cheesecake cookies sound great.  I’m reasonably sure that the flax could be chia (egg replacer) and the coconut oil either Earth Balance or just canola.  Basically, I want to try these, and I think I might be able to make it happen.

Hash Brown Casserole.  What more do you need to know?

I found this great vegan chalupa recipe that is gluten, soy and nut free.  It has black beans, Kale and avocados, and has two recipes for dairy free sour cream.  Looks yummy!

We’re getting close to Valentine’s Day, and even if you don’t celebrate the Hallmark holiday, these Whisky Sriracha candies would give me an excuse to do so!

And here’s a pork carnitas recipe that looks really good, except I’d be adding some more spice to it as winter storm Nemo approaches.

Also, Mary Kate made me this vegan glutenfree Dark Chocolate Chipotle cake for my birthday this past Wednesday.  I don’t know if we’ve posted this link before, but it was beyond awesome.

Hope that the snowpocalypse coming in New Hampshire bypasses us all and miraculously drifts out to sea somewhere.  But if not, and you’re in the New England area stuck inside somewhere, let us know what cool stuff you find on the net.

Posted on February 8, 2013, in Information. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The few times I’ve eaten muscles it’s made me think of licking Odiorne. Not a fan.

Talk to us!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 484 other followers

