2013-04-12 Fabulous Friday Sunshine Awards!

Sunshine Award

Sunshine Award

We won a Very Important Award!  And it’s better than a leg lamp.  Laura at Ruby Bastille nominated us because she thinks our food sounds great — and she has no allergies!  THAT is the best award, ever, really.

Sunshine Award 1

Sunshine Award 1

The picture that came with the award is to the left, and I’m including it because it’s part of the rules of the blog contest and I (Denise) still have some rule following tendencies from that whole legal career thing. But since we’re also over-achievers, and because Mary-Kate ordered me to “Put in a pretty sunny cruise photo here for our award”,  I’m adding a pretty sunny cruise photo for you.  But wait, that’s not all, I’ll do better than that, I’ll give you two.  Yes, I know I sound like an infomercial.

Rules for the Sunshine Award:

  • If you are nominated you must include the link in a blog, linking to the person/blog that nominated you.
  • You must answer some questions and nominate 10 fellow bloggers and link their blogs in your post. Let the people you have nominated know that you have nominated them!
  • Add a sunshiny photo of your own to the post.  (Mary Kate added this rule because spring isn’t coming fast enough in most of the country).

Since there are two of us, we’ll answer the questions separately, and agreed to split the 10 blogs up and each take 5 nominations.

Name Tag MK

1. Who is your favorite philosopher?

Alain de Botton.  His book On Love is such a fantastic meditation on how we create our realities — exploring the nature of “love” in the context of the rise and fall of an actual relationship.

2. What is your favorite number?

7.  I know it’s the most common favorite number, but it has special significance in my life.

3. What is your favorite animal?

Sullivan

Sullivan

<—- This one.  But if you mean in the more general sense, I really love giraffes and moose.  I like the awkward in animals.

4. What are your Facebook and Twitter URLs?

I’m on FB only personally, not connected with the blog.  On twitter, follow me @atomicmkr or on Pinterest.

5. What is your favorite time of day?

I like a good Sunday morning lie-in with a book and a mug of tea, and two cats taking up most of the bed.

6. What was your favorite vacation?

Possibly my trip to China in 2009.  It just sort of came up as an option, and I could afford it and always wanted to go, so I did.  It was a whirlwind, completely crazy, but also amazing.  I climbed the Great Wall.

7. What is your favorite physical activity?

Pilates.  I started about a year and a half ago, and it’s the best thing I’ve ever done.  Firstly, I don’t hate it, and I hate most exercise routines.  I also feel strong and tall, and it shuts off the hamster brain.

8. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Homemade sun tea in the summer.  With lemon.

9. What is your favorite flower?

Tulips, though crocus are a close second because they are the harbingers of spring.

10. What is your passion?

History, though if you’d told me that in high school, I’d have told you you were nuts.

Sunshine Award Nominations (in no particular order)

Jonathan at The Canary Files always has inventive recipes that make me think about the possibilities of vegan, gluten-free cooking.  I’ve enjoyed his introduction to the Gluten-Free Ratio Rally, especially with the special twists of some of his ingredient choices (black sesame and teff cookies anyone?).

Michelle at The Fat Nutritionist is always the person I turn to read when I feel like too much thinking about food is making me feel unbalanced and unhealthy.  Her common sense approach resonates with me (like this post on food versus exercise).

Amanda at Celiac and Allergy Adventures has a “keep calm and carry on” kind of attitude in sharing her personal stories about living with allergies, with tons of great information on living life as normally as possible no matter how much of the world you happen to be allergic to — like dating with food allergies.

Camille at Gluten Free, Soy Free Vegan was one of the first blogs I found that seemed to exclude all my allergies, and while her posting is infrequent at the moment, her archives are a fantastic resource.  I’ve really enjoyed her stories from Senegal, too, particularly the one on nutritional porridge.

Completely unrelated to food allergies, if you ever need a break just to look at something pretty, check out Patrick’s gorgeous work at Canadian Hiking Photography.  Denise and I are both fans.

Name Tag Denise

 

Sunshine Award 2

Sunshine Award 2

1. Who is your favorite philosopher?

Siddhārtha Gautama Buddha and Thich Nhat Hanh.  It seems counter-intuitive with my slightly manic Type A tendencies, but there it is.  Opposites attract.

2. What is your favorite number?

I wasn’t aware that having a favorite number was a thing.  Is it like a superstition? Having a lucky number or something?  In any case, I don’t have one.

3. What is your favorite animal?

Dragons, which is why I have a tattoo of a dragon knitting on my leg.  But if we’re going to get picky and insist on scientifically proven animals, I’ll go with sharks.

4. What are your Facebook and Twitter URLs?

We don’t have a blog Facebook page, although we’ve discussed that we probably should get around to that at some point.  If you want to follow me on Twitter or Pinterest, here you go: https://twitter.com/briagha1994 and http://pinterest.com/denisedaniel94/.

5. What is your favorite time of day?

Again, I’m not sure I knew this was a thing.  My favorite time of day would be a time of day that I’m not working, I guess.

6. What was your favorite vacation?

My favorite vacation was to go to Auckland, New Zealand.  New Zealand was absolutely gorgeous in an otherworldly, surreal way.

7. What is your favorite physical activity?

Let’s face it, I’m a total klutz.  I was literally named “Most Accident Prone” in my high school senior yearbook.  I’m best and most comfortable in the water, because you can’t trip over anything and gravity isn’t as annoying, so swimming it is.

8. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink?

Coffee.  Really good coffee, ultra dark roast.

9. What is your favorite flower?

Irises.

10. What is your passion?

Fiber arts, specifically knitting and spinning.

Sunshine Award Nominations (in no particular order)

Cara at Fork and Beans does gluten free, dairy free and egg free recipes and I think they are really interesting and look really tasty.

Allyson Kramer at Manifest Vegan does gluten free and vegan recipes (which means no dairy or egg for me) and her stuff is always yummy looking and gorgeous.  Also she has two books out, both of which I keep meaning to buy.  I know she’s probably too busy to respond to a Sunshine Award, but you need to know about her if you don’t already anyway.

Pippa Kendrick at The Intolerant Gourmet also has gluten free, dairy free and egg free recipes and gorgeous photos.  You should know about her blog too.

Elisha’s Eating Whole  is a plant based and allergy friendly lifestyle blog, and she posts some really, really yummy looking stuff.

I also really like Lucy’s Friendly Foods. Most of the recipes are dairy, egg, nut and sesame free, but she does a great job of labeling for gluten free and other allergies as well.

Let us know what blogs you like and follow.  We always like to read new things.

About stfaa

This is Denise and Mary Kate's joint profile for our Surviving the Food Allergy Apocalypse blog.

Posted on April 12, 2013, in Information. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love Alain de Botton too! And a Sunday with books, cats and tea sounds perfect. Thanks for nominating me.

Talk to us!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 500 other followers

