2013-10-25 Fabulous Friday Finds

Cape Cod Rail Trail in Summer

Cape Cod Rail Trail in Summer

I’m (Denise) missing being able to go out for Mexican food quite a bit.  So here’s a recipe for Chickpea Flour Tortillas which don’t use any gums (and I’ll use chia instead of flax, since I’m allergic to flax) that I think I’ll be able to use to make some yummy fajitas.

I can’t do this recipe at all, because it has almonds and coconut, but I think Mary Kate should really try it.  Because it looks really luscious,  and she can eat it - Cinnamon Salted Caramel Brownies. But they might not be cake-like enough for Mary Kate, since I’m in the fudge-y camp.

And I think Denise should try the vegan hellfire brownies. They just sound up her alley.

Since it’s fall, I want to have a lot more soups, stews, and chili. I find those to be comfort food as things get damp and cold outside. This recipe for Apple Cider Dinner Bread looks like something I might have to try to have on the side for my next stew.

I’m (Mary Kate) obsessing over walnuts lately, so glazed lentil walnut apple loaf sounds great. I tried the lentil walnut loaf at the college cafeteria on a dare, but it was kind of awesome. Best dare ever.

This recipe is also not Denise-friendly (almond and coconut), but I’m thinking it might be some of my Halloween candy. I do miss candy bars.

And last, but by no means least, if you’re an athlete, or a vegan, or neither but are always looking for good information, do you follow Matt Frazier at No Meat Athlete? In this post, he’s not only offering a deal on his new book for vegan athletes, but also talking about staying healthy and eating well on the road. They’re good tips for the allergic as well.

Hope that you all have a great weekend!

About stfaa

This is Denise and Mary Kate's joint profile for our Surviving the Food Allergy Apocalypse blog.

Posted on October 25, 2013, in Information. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Talk to us!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 462 other followers

