2014-08-22 Fabulous Friday Finds

A hummingbird just hanging out at the Sonoran Desert Museum in AZ

A hummingbird just hanging out at the Sonoran Desert Museum in AZ

It’s starting to get cooler here in NH already. I’m not sure I’m ready for fall.

I (Denise) miss chips, because eating guacamole or salsa with a spoon just isn’t the same. But if you can have chips or crackers, then you need to check out this recipe for Warm Ginger Curried Lentil Dip. I’d have to sub out the maple syrup (potential issues still not tested) and the tahini, but it sounds really good. (I think that’d be awesome on veggies, too. — MK)

Also, some one posted this recipe for Crock-Pot Caramelized Onions in a Facebook group that I’m in recently, and it sounds like an easy way to do something I love, and they can be stored in individual containers in the freezer to use as needed. Yay! Sort of convenience food!

I seem to be running out of things to do with cucumbers. I’ve pickled some (the second batch was edible!), but maybe these cucumber chips would be good with hummus or that curried lentil dip Denise linked?

My gluten-free flour collection is extensive and messy and taking over a huge amount of space in my cabinets. So I’ve been watching different storage solutions on Apartment Therapy, and some of these look a little promising. Sadly, not specifically for the flours, but for other things so that I have more room for flour maybe?

Hope you all have a great weekend!

About stfaa

This is Denise and Mary Kate's joint profile for our Surviving the Food Allergy Apocalypse blog.

Posted on August 22, 2014, in Allergy-Friendly Fridays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. shockinglydelicious

    Thanks for linking to my recipe/method for making caramelized onions in the Crock-Pot. I do just as you describe…make a batch and portion them into small containers for the freezer. Boy can they help rescue a blah soup or stew or pot o’ mashed potatoes when it needs a lift !

Talk to us!