2013-04-05 Fabulous Friday Finds

image

W’eel Turtle, Dunseith, ND

As a follow-up to our maple syrup post, please check out this Very Serious News Report on the maple syrup cartels.  Another reason to source local!

Because we just can’t get enough of the hot stuff, how about some Volcano Dust?  Or Vulcan’s Fire Salt?  The latter is amazing on potatoes.

So, I’ve been craving cheesy things because I (Denise) can’t have most cheese replacement products because of the whole coconut thing.  There’s a great looking jumbo stuffed shells recipe on Oh She Glows, but it does have soy for those of you can’t have that.

I found this great vegan recipe for sticky buns that I’ve been using for over a year, and have posted before, but it doesn’t work for Mary Kate.  But maybe this will if she subs out the pecans (?, I think that’s one of her issues) – a Vegan and Gluten Free Caramel Pecan Sticky Bun.

I also saw this Apple Cider and Chia dressing (scroll down past the salad recipe) which is free of the top eight and looks like it would have a thicker creamer consistency than your normal vinaigrette, as it’s using chia seed as a thickener. I have to say I’m curious.

What have you got?

About stfaa

This is Denise and Mary Kate's joint profile for our Surviving the Food Allergy Apocalypse blog.

Posted on April 5, 2013, in Allergy-Friendly Fridays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Talk to us!